RL (Next), Meelah (702), Nokio (Dru Hill), more Perform at RnB Spotlight in DC (PHOTOS)


Over the weekend, R&B singers from around the country came to Washington, D.C. to perform at the premiere of RnB Spotlight. The musical event, which started in New York, was held at the Howard Theatre on Sunday (Aug. 11). The theme of the show was “Revisiting the 90’s,” and let’s just say, we went on a trip to memory lane.

The showcase was headline by R&B veterans RL (former lead singer of Next), Meelah (former lead singer of 702), Nokio of Dru Hill, and D’Angelo Redman of Making The Band. The latter artist also served as the co-host with Cory Taylor, the founder of RnB Spotlight. Other performers included rising artists Ywada, Shadina, Shaun Mykals, Suzy Q, The Myra Experience, Damon “DJ” Parker and Heather Stevens.

For the record, EVERY artist that hit the stage was incredible. Their vocals were powerful and soulful — just how we like it!

Check out photos from RnB Spotlight below.



RL of Next gave a stellar performance. He performed hits like “Butta Love,” “Too Close,” “Wifey,” and “Can’t Be Friends.” He also performed songs that he wrote including Jaheim’s “Anything” and “Just Incase.” RL’s vocals have really matured over the years and we look forward to his upcoming project.


Dru Hill singer Nokio gave the audience a taste of his Rock/Soul band B.A.D.


Meelah (former lead singer of 702) performed “Where My Girls At,” “Steelo,” “Get It Together,” and”I Still Love You.”


C0-host DeAngelo Redman performed a medley of R&B classics.


Suzy Q. gave a remarkable performance of Minnie Riperton’s classic hit “Lovin You.” Yes, she hit those high notes with perfection!


Lil Mo made a surprise appearance and took us to church!


Damon “DJ” Parker did his thing!


Shadina performed Mary J. Blige’s “Real Love” as well as an original song.


Shaun Mykals lit up the room with his cover of Maxwell’s classic song “Fortunate.”


 Ywada gave us a memorable performance of her new single “End of the Road.”


The Myra Experience stole the show with her cover of Chaka Khan’s “I’m Every Woman.”

(Photography by Shamya Lynn)

2 Trackbacks

Leave a comment

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *