Singer Leah LaBelle and Husband Rasual Butler Killed in Car Crash

R&B singer Leah LaBelle and her husband Rasual Butler (ex-NBA player) have died. The two lovers were killed in a single car crash on Wednesday morning.

According to Los Angeles police, at around 2:30 a.m., the vehicle lost control, hit three parking meters and a retaining wall and landed in the parking lot of a strip mall.

Producer Bryan-Michael Cox posted a heartfelt letter on Instagram. “ELLE. Literally just talked to you on Saturday before I hopped on the plane to NYC for the Grammys,” he wrote. “This is unbelievable. I remember when @pharrell played @jermainedupri and I that youtube clip of you singing, we all were like ‘we have to find this girl!'”

He continued, “We reached out via your YouTube page and you hit back and that was the beginning of our friendship. You were someone that I always believed in. this is a harsh reminder that we don’t control the time we have here so we must make the most out of every moment. Sending my condolences to your family, especially your mother. we lost a very special person this morning and the heavens gained an angel. rest well, @leahlabelle.”

Fellow singer JoJo also reacted to the sad news. “I cannot accept that the two of you are gone,” she wrote. “Leah, you are my sister. I love you. and I feel so fortunate that you were in my life. Sing with the angels in heaven. You were an angel on earth.”

LaBelle, who placed 12th on season three of American Idol, was signed to Epic Records where she released catchy tunes like “Sexify” (2012) and “Lolita” (2013).

That SMILE. That VOICE. That inside-out GLOW. My @leahlabelle . My sister. Woke up this morning and heard you were gone. This can’t be real. I just replayed the voice note you sent me on my birthday. Please someone assure me this is not real. And that we are still gonna meet up and sing and harmonize and encourage each other and laugh out asses off real soon. LEAH You have the light of GOD inside you. Everyone you touched was blessed by your presence. PURE. You were GENUINE. The REAL THING. Can’t believe I’m writing about you in the past tense!!!!! And you and @rasualbutler8 ‘s relationship was SUCH A BEAUTIFUL LOVE TO WITNESS AND FEEL. Best friends, believers, partners. A love that survived so much. We want and need more from you both. I cannot accept that the two of you are gone. Leah, you are my sister. I love you. and I feel so fortunate that you were in my life. Sing with the angels in heaven. You were an angel on earth.

A post shared by JoJo. (@iamjojo) on

Facebook Comments


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

En Vogue Stuns on ‘Electric Cafe’ Album Cover, Reveals Track List

Legendary group En Vogue will treat fans to new music at their Electric Cafe on March 30. The trio lures us in more by unveiling the track list and beautiful cover artwork for their new album.

Speaking of their cover, the ladies of En Vogue serve ageless beauty as they stand fiercely in their sparkling outfits.

The group’s new album Electric Cafe will be released via eOne Entertainment. It features 11 tracks with riveting titles such as “Oceans Deep,” “So Serious,” “Blue Skies” and its title track. West Coast rapper Snoop Dogg will lend his hip-hop flavor to a song called “Have A Seat.”

Rocket,Cafe‘s lead single, is currently at No. 12 on urban adult contemporary radio, tallying 852 radio spins. The song was written by Ne-Yo and produced by Curtis “Sauce” Wilson.

Electric Cafe track listing

1. Blue Skies
2. Déjà vu
3. Rocket
4. Reach 4 Me
5. Electric Cafe
6. Life
7. Love The Way
8. Oceans Deep
9. Have A Seat feat. Snoop Dogg
10. I’m Good
11. So Serious

Facebook Comments

Bryan-Michael Cox Shares Unreleased Leah LaBelle Song, ‘Stereo’

We can always count on music to help us through tough times. Following the tragic death of Leah LaBelle, Bryan-Michael Cox pays homage to her by sharing an unreleased track he produced titled “Stereo.”

“I was randomly going through some of my drives and found a collection of songs that I produced with Leah,” Cox wrote on SoundCloud. “My heart is still very heavy, so I thought I’d share this one with you guys.”

On the heartfelt track, LaBelle uses a radio as a metaphor to describe the love she has for her man.

“On like a radio / Love you in stereo / From left to right baby / Boy, let me turn you on / On like a DJ, playing your favorite song,” LaBelle sings on the catchy chorus.

Earlier this month, Jermaine Dupri shared an unreleased song by LaBelle titled “Scumbag.”

“Stereo” and “Scumbag” are equally strong tracks and further proves how much of an underrated artist LaBelle.

Listen to “Stereo” by Leah LaBelle below.

Facebook Comments

Keyshia Cole Plans to Repackage ’11:11 Reset’ With Three New Songs

Keyshia Cole has been hush mouth since the release of her 11:11 Reset album last October. Her silence has its good reasons though, according to a recent Instagram post.

The “Better Me” singer has plans to revive her latest album and its era. “I will be announcing a tour soon,” she wrote. She will also rerelease her album with three new songs.

The 11-track project, which released on Oct. 20, 2017, highlights Cole’s personal triumphs and trials post-divorce. The album includes the Remy Ma and French Montana assisted single “You” and soulful ballad “Incapable.”

There is no word on when Cole will re-release the album.

Are you interested in new music from Keysh? Let us know in the comment section. 

Facebook Comments

Send this to a friend