Mary J.Blige, Anita Baker Finally Record A Duet


Mary J. Blige loves dueting with her idols. From Chaka Khan to Aretha Franklin, she has recorded with each of these legendary figures in music. Now she will add Anita Baker to that growing list.

On Saturday (Jan.11), as many celebrities friends of Blige wished her a happy birthday via Twitter, Baker took the time to send her a birthday shout out. She also revealed she couldn’t wait for fans to hear their new duet.

“Happy BDay, Have it Your Way ALL Day,” tweeted the “Rapture” singer. “Can’t wait 4 our fans to hear the New Song we’ve Produced. Hugs Love & Light 🙂 ab.”

Last June, Blige’s husband posted a photo via Instagram of the two singers in the studio together. “Finally, @brooklynnblige and Ms Anita Baker in the studio together making magic. #Greatness #legendary.”

The new song will be the first time the two artist have recorded a song together. The “My Life” artist performed “Caught Up In Rapture” with Baker at the 2011 BET Awards. A demo of the song was recorded by Blige and was eventually passed to Uptown Records CEO Andre Harrell, who signed Blige in the early 90’s.

We can’t wait for the duet. Until then, watch the two sing Baker’s “Angel” at New York’s Radio City Music Hall.

Antwane Folk is the editorial assistant at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Janine Announces Release Date for Debut Album ’99’, Shares ‘Too Late’ Video

Emerging artist Janine has announced her debut album, 99, will release on May 25 via Atlantic Records. The singer revealed the exciting news on Twitter.

“Ohh and I have an announcement to make… GUESS WHAT?! MY ALBUM “99” COMES OUT EVERYWHERE NEXT MONTH ON MAY 25TH!,” she shared.

Janine recently wrapped up her first headlining tour Before It’s Too Late. “This tour has been the most incredible ride & I can’t wait to get back out on the road. Thank you for making this the best time of my life,” she said on social media.

She also released an accompanying visual for her latest single “Too Late,” which she shot in London. The song is expected to appear on 99. Previously released songs “Never the Right Time” and “Unstable” could appear on the debut LP as well, but we won’t know until she shares the official track list.

Jorja Smith Announces Debut Album ‘Lost & Found’

It’s about time. After several major features with hip-hop biggest stars (Drake, Kendrick Lamar), rising singer Jorja Smith has announced her debut album, Lost & Found, will arrive on June 8.

Smith will enjoy the spotlight alone on Lost & Found as there are no features on the project, which includes “Teenage Fantasy” and “Blue Lights.” She performed the latter song along with “On My Mind” on Jimmy Kimmel Live! last week.

Lost & Found Track List
1. “Lost & Found”
2. “Teenage Fantasy”
3. “Where Did I Go?”
4. “February 3rd”
5. “On Your Own”
6. “The One”
7. “Wandering Romance”
8. “Blue Lights”
9. “Lifeboats (Freestyle)”
10. “Goodbyes”
11. “Tomorrow”
12. “Don’t Watch Me Cry”

Pre-order Smith’s Lost & Found today.


Erykah Badu, Miguel and The Roots to Headline Smokin’ Grooves Festival

The performance lineup for the Smokin’ Grooves Festival has been announced. Erykah Badu, Miguel and The Roots are set to headline the event, which takes plance on June 16 at The Queen Mary in Long Beach.

Other artists on the bill include Jhene Aiko, NxWorries (Anderson Paak + Knxwledge), H.E.R., Majid Jordan, dvsn, Tiara Thomas, Lion Babe, Arin Ray, Ravyn Lenae, Omarion and THEY, to name a few.

While Badu doesn’t have a new project out, fans will be expecting to hear her classic records. Miguel and Jhené Aiko will promote their latest albums. The latter artist released her  sophomore album Trip last September, while Miguel delivered his third album, War & Leisure, in December.

Tickets are on sale now at

See the complete Smokin’ Grooves lineup below.

Send this to a friend